FDA allows milk alternatives to be called milk
In a recent FDA ruling, plant-based and alternative milks can officially be called milk, regardless of its origin. In 1973, the FDA defined milk by saying it had to come from a lactating animal. In recent years, there has been a rise in vegan and plant-based diets and a major pivot toward plant-based alternatives that has slowly turned dairy aisles into everything but. Oat, soy, rice, coconut, cashew, hazelnut and hemp are just a few alternatives that were labeled as 'milk’.
Source: labelsandlabeling.com