● Park, recreational, cultural, or historic preservation purposes The historic 64-foot granite lighthouse faces south toward the Rhode Island Sound and the exit of Narragansett Bay. Beavertail Lighthouse's history The original lighthouse on the property was constructed in 1749 and was burned down by British Soldiers leaving the Newport area in 1779. The foundation remains onsite. The current lighthouse was constructed in 1856 along with 6 ancillary structures totaling 5,171 square feet. The lighthouse was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1977. How to apply Any eligible entity with an interest in acquiring the property for a use consistent with the purposes stated above should submit a letter of interest to the address below within 60 days from the date of this notice.